ASTRID BASSLER


Astrid completed her studies in business administration with a focus on the hotel industry and event management at the University of Applied Sciences in Munich. After several stations abroad, including San Francisco and Barcelona, she came to Berlin in 2009. There she continued to work in the upscale hotel industry. After the birth of her daughter, she decided to join the Berlin start-up scene in 2016. Here she worked for an e-learning platform and as an HR consultant.

In spring 2018 she founded Urban Art Kids, after she had met Martha Zimmermann’s Plom Gallery in Barcelona years before and was enthusiastic about the idea of creating an art gallery just for children. In 2019, she completed further training as a curator at the University of the Arts in Berlin.

In mid-August 2019 she found a new home with Urban Art Kids on Sesenheimer Strasse in Charlottenburg.

That's what we do


Urban Art Kids is a contemporary art gallery dedicated only to children. The adolescents should be given a place where they can live out their creativity and let their imagination run wild.

Our regular workshops for children aged 4-14 illuminate the medium of art in all its facets. In cooperation with artists and educators, we offer varied courses on topics such as artistic techniques, art history as well as individual workshops by artists.

In changing art exhibitions, the works of local and international artists (including illustrators) are presented, who mainly appeal to children with their motifs. The works can be purchased both as original and in limited print runs in our online shop.

For corporate clients, Urban Art Kids offers individual workshops at corporate events (e.g. Summer Festival, Family Days).

Our philosophy


At Urban Art Kids, children should have an easy and playful introduction to art.

Together with artists and educators, we develop exciting workshops for children on a wide variety of topics (collages, tape art, etc.) and thus let them participate in the creative everyday life of artists.

Creative design is intended to increase the conscious perception of art and promote cognitive abilities as well as children’s personality and self-confidence.

ARTIST TEAM FOR WORKSHOPS


The workshops at Urban Art Kids are organized and accompanied by us.

ASTRID BASSLER


Astrid absolvierte ihr Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit dem Schwerpunkt  Hotellerie und Eventmanagement an der Hochschule München. Nach mehreren Stationen im Ausland u.a. San Francisco und Barcelona, kam sie 2009 nach Berlin. Dort arbeitete sie weiterhin in der gehobenen Hotellerie.  Nach der Geburt ihrer Tochter entschied sie sich 2016, in die Berliner Start-up Szene zu gehen. Hier arbeite sie unter anderem für eine e-Learning Plattform sowie als HR Consultant.

Im Frühjahr 2018 gründete sie Urban Art Kids und absolvierte 2019 eine Weiterbildung zur Kuratorin an der Universität der Künste.

Seit Mitte August 2019 hat sie mit Urban Art Kids ein neues Zuhause in der Sesenheimer Straße in Charlottenburg gefunden.

Das machen wir


Urban Art Kids ist eine zeitgenössische Kunstgalerie, die nur Kindern gewidmet ist. Den Heranwachsenden soll ein Ort gegeben werden, an dem sie ihre Kreativität ausleben und ihrer Fantasie freien Lauf lassen können.

Unsere regelmäßigen Workshops für Kinder im Alter von 4- 14 Jahren beleuchten das Medium Kunst in all seinen Facetten. In Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern und Pädagogen bieten wir abwechslungsreiche Kurse zu den Themen z.B. künstlerische Techniken, Kunstgeschichte aber auch individuelle Workshops von Künstlern an.

In wechselnde Kunstausstellungen werden die Werke von lokalen und internationalen Künstlern (u.a. Illustratoren) vorgestellt, die vor allem Kinder mit ihren Motiven ansprechen. Die Werke können sowohl als Original aber auch in limitierten Druckauflagen in unserem Online Shop erworben werden.

Für Firmenkunden bietet Urban Art Kids individuelle Workshops bei Firmenevents (z.B. Sommerfest, Family Days) an.

Unsere Philosophie


Kindern sollen bei Urban Art Kids einen leichten und spielerischen Einstieg in die Kunst haben.

Zusammen mit KünstlerInnen und PädagogInnen entwickeln wir spannende Workshops für Kinder zu den unterschiedlichsten Themen (Kollagen, Tape Art, etc.) und lassen sie so Teil am gestalterischen Alltag von Künstlern haben.

Das kreative Gestalten soll die bewusste Wahrnehmung der Kunst steigern und sowohl kognitive Fähigkeiten als auch die Persönlichkeit und das Selbstvertrauen der Kinder fördern.

WORKSHOP ARTISTS TEAM


Die Workshops bei Urban Art Kids werden von uns organisiert und begleitet.